Salonized is owned by Treatwell. That is not a criticism, it is the most important fact about the product, and it shapes everything below. Start with the part that does not flatter us. Salonized publishes a card rate of 1% on standard domestic cards excluding VAT, and Youzse charges 2.5% plus 35p with the platform fee inside that rate. On a single transaction they are cheaper and there is no argument to be had about it. The argument worth having is about where your clients come from, who introduces them and what that introduction costs you. Youzse charges 0% commission on new clients, and it is not owned by a company that sells introductions for a living.
The software and the marketplace have the same owner
Salonized is a Dutch business and its site footer reads Treatwell Salonized NL B.V. Treatwell is a booking marketplace. The integration between the two is a native feature rather than a third party add on, which is genuinely convenient if you want marketplace volume. It also means the diary you run your business in and the marketplace that sells introductions to your business are built by the same company.
Two things need saying plainly before anyone quotes a scary percentage. Salonized does not take a cut of the bookings you take yourself, and the Treatwell channel is something you switch on rather than something you are forced into. If you never enable it you never pay it, and the subscription is a subscription in the ordinary way.
The published Treatwell terms are 35% commission on new Treatwell bookings plus a 2% transaction fee on prepaid online bookings. That is a marketplace acquisition fee, not a platform fee on your own work. Treatwell is charging for finding you a client you did not have, which is a legitimate thing to charge for. The question is what happens to your margin if that channel quietly becomes the way most new clients arrive, and how easily you can move those clients onto your own booking page afterwards.
What each one costs before any marketplace fee
| Salonized | Youzse | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | £50 a month for one team member. The Salonized pricing page does not state whether this includes or excludes VAT. | From £19 a month. VAT treatment is set out on the Youzse pricing page rather than here. |
| Extra team members | £4 a month for each additional team member. Verified at two for £54, three for £58, five for £66 and ten for £86. VAT treatment not stated on their pricing page. | Tier prices and their VAT treatment are published on the Youzse pricing page. |
| Free trial | 14 days, no card required and no setup fee. | 30 days, no card required. |
| Card rate | 1% on standard domestic cards and 2.5% on premium international or business cards, both stated excluding VAT. Processor is Adyen and payouts can be as fast as next day. | 2.5% plus 35p a transaction with the platform fee inside that rate. Higher than the Salonized standard domestic rate. VAT treatment not stated here. |
| Marketplace fee | Treatwell integration is a native feature. Treatwell's published terms are 35% commission on new Treatwell bookings plus a 2% transaction fee on prepaid online bookings. | 0% commission on new clients who find you through the Youzse marketplace, and no transaction fee on top of the card rate. |
Salonized figures read from salonized.com on 7 August 2026. Their subscription pricing page does not state its VAT treatment, so we have not assumed either way. Their Salonized Pay page states card rates excluding VAT. Terminals are published as a one off from 199 euros excluding VAT with no price in pounds.
Run the numbers on one new client
Take a £60 treatment as an example. Booked as a new Treatwell booking at the published 35%, the fee is £21. If that booking is prepaid online, the 2% transaction fee adds £1.20 on the same £60. One introduction at that level costs more than a whole month of Youzse at £19.
The same £60 taken through your own Youzse booking page carries 0% commission on new clients. You still pay to accept the card, and here is where we lose. Youzse at 2.5% plus 35p is £1.85 on that £60, where 1% on a standard domestic card through Salonized Pay is 60p excluding VAT. Per transaction, Salonized is the cheaper place to take money and nothing on this page changes that.
So the two products are not close on card cost, and they are not close on acquisition cost either, in opposite directions. The number that decides it is how many of your clients arrive through a marketplace. If the honest answer is almost none, buy on features and card rate, and Salonized has a strong case. If the answer is a meaningful share of your new business, the acquisition fee becomes the largest number on your monthly statement and the subscription is a rounding error next to it.
One caution before you model this yourself. Treatwell's published terms describe new Treatwell bookings, so read their current terms for how a returning client is treated rather than taking a figure from a comparison page. We have not assumed anything we cannot verify. Worth adding to your model too: Salonized SMS is bought as separate credits at £0.13 down to £0.09 each depending on volume, so reminders sit on top of the subscription.
Reasons to choose Salonized rather than Youzse
- You can sign up, take a 14 day trial and get going without a card, a setup fee or a conversation with a salesperson
- One plan with no upgrade gating. The newsletter builder, dynamic pricing, last minute discounts, the automatic waiting list, loyalty points, gift cards, two way Google Calendar sync and the mini website are all in it
- 1% on standard domestic cards excluding VAT is cheaper per transaction than anything Youzse charges
- Adyen sits behind Salonized Pay and payouts can arrive as fast as the next day
- No contracts, no setup fees and zero start up costs, in their own published words
- You actively want Treatwell volume and you are content to pay an acquisition fee to get it
Where Youzse is the better buy
Youzse is built in the UK for UK businesses and starts at £19 a month, with a 30 day free trial that does not ask for a card. Youzse does list businesses so new clients can find them, and charges 0% commission on the new clients it brings you rather than taking a share of the first booking.
The scope is wider than a salon calendar. Bookings, deposits, payments, quotes, invoices, CRM, marketing, loyalty, gift cards, memberships, forms and VAT returns sit in one subscription, so the client record and the money record are the same record. If you have been running a diary in one product and invoicing in another, that is the part that changes your week rather than your card rate.
Salonized serves continental Europe first. A UK support line exists, but the product carries no UK specific locale and its terminal pricing is published in euros with no price in pounds. If VAT returns, UK invoicing and pounds are the daily reality of your admin, weigh that alongside the percentage.
Third-party pricing and features on this page were last checked on 3 August 2026. Rival platforms change their plans, so check their own site before you decide.
Keep reading
- Salons and beauty
Treatwell or Youzse: the marketplace fee against owning the client
Treatwell takes 35% of a new client's first booking and publishes no monthly software price. Youzse is from £19 a month with 0% commission on new clients.
- Salons and beauty
The Setora alternative for shops that outgrow the calendar
Setora is £39 a month per location for the whole platform with unlimited staff. Youzse is tiered from £19. Which is cheaper depends on your team size.
- Salons and beauty
The Solo alternative for when solo stops being solo
Solo by Secret Spa prices per professional and quotes VAT inclusive. Youzse starts at £19 a month and grows with staff, so compare before your team grows.
- Report
The State of UK Salon and Barber Software Pricing, 2026
An independent, dated comparison of published UK pricing and new client commission across 18 salon and barber booking platforms. Free to cite, with sources.