Square Appointments charges less per card. Here is the actual trade

Square charges less per card than Youzse on every published UK rate and its free plan is a real one. The question is what that free plan leaves out and what the rest of the ecosystem costs once you need it.

6 min readUpdated 20 September 2026

Square takes cards more cheaply than Youzse does. In person it publishes 1.75% on the free plan and 1.6% on Plus and Premium. Online it publishes 1.4% plus 25p on UK cards. Youzse charges 2.5% plus 35p with the platform fee inside that rate. There is no reading of those numbers where we come out ahead, so this page will not argue about the percentage. It will argue about three other things: what the free plan excludes, what you pay per location to get those things back and what it means that your calendar, your till and your card processing all belong to one company.

Published UK prices and card rates

Square AppointmentsYouzse
Plan priceFree at £0 for a single location. Plus at £29 a month per location. Premium at £69 a month per location. The UK pricing page does not state whether these include or exclude VAT.From £19 a month. VAT treatment is set out on the Youzse pricing page rather than here.
Cards in person1.75% on Free and 1.6% on Plus and Premium. VAT treatment not stated on the UK fees page.2.5% plus 35p a transaction with the platform fee inside that rate. Higher than Square on either plan. VAT treatment not stated here.
Cards online1.4% plus 25p on UK cards and 2.5% plus 25p on cards issued outside the UK. VAT treatment not stated.2.5% plus 35p a transaction, platform fee included. VAT treatment not stated here.
Keyed, card on file and virtual terminal2.5%. VAT treatment not stated.2.5% plus 35p a transaction. VAT treatment not stated here.
Buy now, pay laterClearpay at 6% plus 30p. VAT treatment not stated.Not published on this page.

Square figures read from squareup.com/gb on 7 August 2026. An extra 1.5% applies to cards issued outside the UK. Custom plans are available above 200k pounds a year in processing. Neither the UK pricing page nor the fees page states VAT treatment, so we have not assumed either way.

What the free plan does not include

  • More than one location. Each additional location moves you to £29 or £69 a month per location, VAT treatment not stated
  • Class booking, so group sessions and courses are out
  • Waitlist
  • Processing time, so any service with a gap in the middle cannot be modelled properly
  • Google Calendar sync
  • Confirmation notifications, although automatic reminders by text and email are included
  • Custom SMS
  • Cancellation policies
  • Resource management for rooms, chairs and equipment

The trade you are actually making

Square is very good at the thing it was built for. The calendar and the till are one product, checkout is native rather than bolted on, and the hardware is its own, from the Reader to the Handheld, Terminal, Stand and Register. The free plan is not a token either. Unlimited staff accounts, a custom booking website, social media integrations, integrated payments, automated contracts and automatic reminders by text and email are all in it at £0 for a single location. If you run a counter and take most of your money in person, that is a serious offer and you should take it seriously.

The first part of the trade is that payment processing is Square's own. There is no bringing your own processor, so the software and the card rate are a single decision and you cannot change one without changing the other. That is the ecosystem working exactly as designed, and it is part of why the rates can be as keen as they are. It also means a future rate change is not something you can shop around without moving your diary.

The second part is where the free plan stops. Class booking, waitlists, cancellation policies, resource management, Google Calendar sync and custom SMS are the features a busy diary reaches for in month three rather than in week one, and every one of them sits on the far side of £29 a month per location. Plus also adds write access to the Bookings API. Premium at £69 a month per location adds time tracking, staff scheduling, staff pay percentages and custom contract fields. Neither price states its VAT treatment on the UK site. So the fair comparison for most growing businesses is not Youzse against Free. It is Youzse against Plus or Premium, per location, plus cards.

Where Youzse fits

Youzse costs more to take a card and it is not a till. What it is instead is a UK business system. Bookings, deposits, payments, quotes, invoices, CRM, marketing, loyalty, gift cards, memberships, forms and VAT returns come in one subscription from £19 a month, with a 30 day free trial and no card needed to start.

It charges 0% commission on new clients, which matters if you are buying software to create new business rather than only to record it. Deposits are taken at the point of booking, and the client record, the invoice and the VAT return are all part of the same system rather than three products you reconcile on a Sunday evening.

The honest summary is short. If most of your revenue is a card presented at a counter and your feature list is genuinely covered by Free, Square will cost you less and you should buy it. If your diary needs more than Free covers, or you want quoting, invoicing and VAT returns in the same place as the booking, then price Square at £29 or £69 a month per location before card fees, and the comparison stops being about 1.6% against 2.5%.

Third-party pricing and features on this page were last checked on 3 August 2026. Rival platforms change their plans, so check their own site before you decide.

Clear answers before you switch

The details that usually slow down a move: setup, pricing, bookings, records and how Youzse fits into your day.

On card rates, yes. Square publishes 1.75% in person on Free, 1.6% on Plus and Premium and 1.4% plus 25p online on UK cards. Youzse charges 2.5% plus 35p with the platform fee inside that rate.

We value your privacy

Cookies keep Youzse running, improve the platform and help deliver relevant content. Read our privacy policy and cookie policy.