If the money question in your shop is how a ticket splits between the shop and the barber, SQUIRE is built for exactly that and this page will not pretend otherwise. Youzse handles the money differently: it bills chair rent to the renter on its own recurring schedule, with invoices they can see themselves, and it can route a booking payment straight into the Stripe account of a barber who is self employed or renting a chair. What it has no equivalent of is the commission split, where the shop's percentage is withheld from the same ticket as the haircut. If that split is the job you are hiring software to do, hire SQUIRE. This page is for shops where the split is not the hard part, and where the hard part is running booking, deposits, invoices, marketing and client records in one place without paying a commission on new clients. Everything below comes from what each company publishes, in the currency each company published it.
What SQUIRE is genuinely built around
SQUIRE is barbershop software first and a booking calendar second. The ticket is pre built from the appointment, so service, retail, tip and the commission or booth rent split all sit on one transaction rather than being reconciled afterwards. Revenue is attributed to the barber who earned it, which is the number most shop owners actually want on a Monday morning.
That feeds the payout tools. Auto Payout routes commission splits to the barbers' own accounts. Rent Collect takes booth rent out of the same transaction stream instead of you chasing it separately. Rapid Transfer moves money within 30 minutes for a fee charged per transfer.
Around that sits a branded consumer app under your own shop name, plus booking entry points through Instagram and Google. SQUIRE is not a marketplace and does not try to be. It is a US company, Squire Technologies Inc, with terms governed by New York law, and it serves barbershops rather than beauty in general.
Stay with SQUIRE if this is your shop
- Your barbers are paid on a commission split and you want that split settled inside the transaction rather than in a spreadsheet on a Sunday night.
- You rent chairs and want booth rent collected from the same money that comes through the till.
- You want revenue attributed per barber so you can see who is carrying the shop.
- You want payouts landing within 30 minutes and you accept a per transfer fee for the privilege.
- You want a branded consumer app for your shop under your own name.
- You are a barbershop rather than a salon, clinic or garage, and you want software that assumes that from the first screen.
What each company publishes
| SQUIRE | Youzse | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | UK£20 per month, INDEPENDENT, for individual barbers, VAT treatment not stated | £19 per month in GBP, entry plan, billed per business, VAT treatment set out on the Youzse pricing page |
| Single shop | UK£30 per month, PRO, for single location shops, VAT treatment not stated | Youzse plans rise above £19 per month in GBP by feature set rather than by chair |
| Multi location | UK£60 per month per shop on EXECUTIVE and UK£90 per month per shop on TITAN, VAT treatment not stated | GBP pricing published on the Youzse pricing page, with extra locations from £15 a month |
| Free trial | 14 days on INDEPENDENT | 30 days, no card required |
| Card rate | No GBP rate published. The only rates found are US rates in page metadata rather than visible copy: 2.5% plus 20 cents USD card present and 2.9% plus 30 cents USD card not present | 2.5% plus 35p in GBP per transaction, with the platform fee inside that rate |
| Add ons | Branded landing pages 25 USD per month and Operator AI 99 USD per month, billed in USD even on the UK view, VAT treatment not stated | Published in GBP on the Youzse pricing page |
Taken from getsquire.com on 7 August 2026. Where a company does not state its VAT treatment we say so rather than assume it, and we do not convert currencies, so USD figures are left in USD.
Where Youzse costs more, plainly
At entry level the two sit within a pound of each other in the same currency. SQUIRE INDEPENDENT is UK£20 a month for individual barbers and Youzse starts at £19 a month. Move up a Youzse plan for the wider feature set and Youzse costs more than SQUIRE INDEPENDENT. That is the honest shape of it.
There is a gap we cannot close for you either. SQUIRE does not state VAT treatment on its UK pricing, so we will not tell you whether UK£20 is the number that reaches your bank statement. Ask them to confirm before you compare any totals.
Two more things worth knowing before you sign. SQUIRE add ons bill in US dollars even on the UK view, at 25 dollars a month for branded landing pages and 99 dollars a month for Operator AI. And no GBP card rate is published anywhere in their visible copy, so a UK shop cannot see in advance what a card payment will cost.
Breadth is the argument, not the split
Youzse is not going to win on ticket level commission splits. What it does instead is cover the rest of the business in one system: booking and deposits, quotes and invoices, client records, marketing, loyalty, gift cards, memberships, forms and VAT returns, across more than 60 trades.
The commercial line matters too. Youzse charges 0% commission on new clients, so a client who finds you through Youzse and books does not arrive with a commission attached to them. Card payments run at 2.5% plus 35p in pounds, with the platform fee sitting inside that rate rather than being added on top of it.
The trial is 30 days with no card required, against 14 days on SQUIRE INDEPENDENT. Thirty days is long enough to run a real month with real clients rather than a demo with test bookings, which is usually when you find out whether software fits the way you actually work.
Who should not switch
If you employ six barbers on commission and you spend the end of every week working out who is owed what, do not switch to Youzse to save a pound a month. The reconciliation will eat the saving in a fortnight.
If you are a single chair, a small team on salary, or a shop that has quietly grown into beauty, aesthetics or something adjacent, the calculation changes. At that point the payout engine is machinery you are paying for and not using, and the things that hurt are missed deposits, unpaid invoices and clients you never followed up.
Third-party pricing and features on this page were last checked on 3 August 2026. Rival platforms change their plans, so check their own site before you decide.
Keep reading
- Salons and beauty
The best salon software in the UK, compared honestly
Fresha, Booksy, Vagaro and Youzse compared on real UK pricing, card rates and new client fees. What each is best at, and what it costs.
- Salons and beauty
Fresha alternatives, compared on what they actually cost
Eight Fresha alternatives compared on published UK pricing and new client fees. Fresha charges 20% on marketplace new clients with a £4 minimum.
- Salons and beauty
Booksy alternatives, and when Booksy is still the cheapest
Seven Booksy alternatives on published UK pricing. Booksy takes no commission with Boost off, which is hard to beat. Where each one wins, and where it does not.
- Report
The State of UK Salon and Barber Software Pricing, 2026
An independent, dated comparison of published UK pricing and new client commission across 18 salon and barber booking platforms. Free to cite, with sources.